AP Steve Paxton

Today I have been exploring Steve Paxton’s technique: the material for the spine for my 3rd stage (not wanting to get up) of my Autonomous Performance. I found out that I have to think that every movement comes from the spine. Paxton says, ‘Material for the Spine can be seen as a system for exploring the interior and exterior muscles of the back’  (2017) indeed, I have noticed that each of my movements, either on the ground level or standing up, had some tension within my spine or the spine just let my body be relaxed. Although, my body was relaxed I knew that spine holds my ‘relaxed’ movements. Movements of the shoulders, movements of my arms or legs were always connected and my consciousness was always that I moved with my spine at all times.

Plan for choreography:

  1. lying position
  2. moving with shoulders
  3. to sitting position
  4. standing
  5. dropping
  6. to sitting position
  7. moving with shoulders
  8. reaching out
  9. dropping to lying position

What’s next?

  • Keep free writing
  • explore different stages of your plan
  • find more music for your piece
  • projection for stage 1?

References:

STEVE PAXTON : MATERIAL FOR THE SPINE -DVDrom TRAILER. (2017). [online] YouTube. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8CntWmA1YTw [Accessed 16 Feb. 2017].

Leave a Reply

